Homework!

I have been so busy this week that I have put off my first real Homework assignment from “Blogger Friend School” so that I could really think about what to write. The main reason I have delayed is because I am supposed to write about my “feelings” this first week of school.

Now, I have to confess that my “feelings” about Homeschooling have changed about a million times and sometimes, from minute to minute, this week!

Through all the ups and downs of trying out new books, getting back into a routine and trying to keep up with all the extracurricular things (such as cooking supper), my mind has composed and discarded numerous posts on my “feelings” about Homeschooling.

Some of them ended with “no way can I post that!”

The opportunity to teach my children at home is a blessing and a challenge. Through the years I have been encouraged by some lovely folks’ compliments about my dear children’s behavior and their talents. I have had the blessing of seeing them grow in a desire to serve the Lord, as well as seeing them grow intellectually. We have enjoyed the blessing of God’s provision when it was needed in all areas of our life, from our daily schedule, to our daily bread. We have had the blessing of learning to do without some material things and the blessing of learning to be  better stewards of the things the Lord had given us too!

As I survey what I have written here about our years of homeschooling, it comes to my mind, that the “flip-side” of every blessing, was the challenge part.

Those things that we struggled through together, have taught us many important lessons. There have been tears and trials, but those things, the Lord has brought us through.

Ever faithful and true to his promises, He will continue to teach our family the things we need to know for this school year as well. I am grateful to the Lord Jesus;  for His “hands on” teaching methods have been just what we needed!

The verse that the Lord “gave me” as an encouragement at the beginning of this journey nine years ago is

Proverbs 24:3 and 4

“By Wisdom a house is built and through understanding it is established; through knowledge it’s rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures. “

7 thoughts on “Homework!

  1. homeschoolshelter

    I enjoyed your post. So true…always two sides of every coin. It's so great that with Christ we can see how the good is worked through any difficulty.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Tweety

    For dropping by. It was really nice reading your assignment to. I think I am going to really like being in 'school' and making new friends.

    Like

    Reply
  3. RebeccaC

    I enjoyed reading your post!

    I understand the emotional rollercoaster! We have good days and crazy days and some days the good days are crazy! ;^) I look forward to reading future assignments!

    Oh, and thanks for stopping by my blog! :^)

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  4. nancysnook

    I really liked reading your post! I've had those weeks too where we were so numb from exhaustion that we couldn't feel anything. Thank you for sharing with us about your experience.

    Mrs. Nancy
    BFS Teacher

    Like

    Reply
  5. ApplesofGold

    Oh, I LOVE that verse! I've read several of these assignments now and it seems we all have made mention of the blessings and the challenges. I really enjoyed reading your assignment! Thank you for sharing so openly! Holly

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

