Taking the PSAT Exam Strikes Fear Into our Hearts!

 My daughter loved tests when she was Elementary school age. I recall vividly the day in Kindergarten that she insisted I give her a Spelling test. Things have changed over the years. That’s right, my 11th grader now does not like tests.

In fact, she shudders when I happen to cheerfully mention that her PSAT exam is coming up in just a couple of weeks, but here are some things that we are using to help her feel the pressure a little less :

 

 

The REA Test Prep manual for the PSAT. It has two practice tests, test strategy information and a software CD to automatically score the tests and help students understand their practice test scores.

The Math Tutor DVD for our Texas Instruments Calculator will help her to be very familiar with its functions, which will enable her to move through the test quickly.

The College board encourages students to bring a calculator that they are familiar with and to bring it even if they don’t think that they will need it. Here is the link to their calculator recommendations/ restrictions:

http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/psat/about/calculator.html

 

Just “click” on the pictures to go to the websites for more information on these items.

We are preparing for the PSAT Exam in October, but most “experts” seem to agree that prep for the PSAT is also helpful in the SAT Exams which we do not have to worry about taking until Spring :0)

I will post more on the items we will be using and reviewing for SAT prep later, but I added some links to the side bar today, under the “Test Prep” category so you could cruise over to some websites and check them out if you are interested.

So I am encouraging my daughter that this is a great way to get ready for her SAT or ACT entrance exams and there is really nothing to lose since we will use her scores on the PSAT to help prepare for any weak areas on the SAT’s.  I am also reassuring her that we are in no way defined by test scores and that if she is simply, striving to learn & be a good student, that will be reflected on the tests that she has to take. 

We are pursuing this course since she is interested in applying to colleges, but not all students have to have a college entrance exam. It certainly wouldn’t hurt to take them, in case they change their mind about college later and for some states that require yearly testing (such as ours) of Homeschoolers, they fulfill the requirement and you are done!

I don’t want to spend out entire school year concerned about test scores, she is continuing to be a well-rounded individual and participate regularly in extracurricular activities.  Some good test prep is going to help her confidence level. I want her to do her best on the exams because colleges look at scores on college entrance exams, to determine who will enter and who they will offer those precious scholarship dollars!

It is important especially for Home Educated students, whose scores may be a more important indicator of their abilities, (to a college) than the grades I give my student. It seems crazy to me that when I was a classroom teacher, my objectivity was assumed when I graded a student, but now that I am teaching my own children at home, it is questioned, but that is life!

Sometimes in the midst of Homeschooling my kids through these High School years, it has felt a bit like I have slipped into the Twilight Zone! But, I am willing to learn and to work a little harder with my students to be sure that they do well in order to meet the requirements.  I know these things will help my kids get to a place where they are learning and serving with the talents that God has given them.

Hope I haven’t made you scared too! Leave me a comment and let me know if you have joined me in:

 

 

Merit K

 

One thought on “Taking the PSAT Exam Strikes Fear Into our Hearts!

  1. Pingback: From PSAT to SAT and all in the 7th Grade! « Sass Class

Leave a Reply

