Tofu Italian Meatballs

8c149a4f-37cb-4e26-bbb0-4de2e4390c6d_zps4101a1a5

Tofu is a great source of protein, calcium and iron.  It picks up the flavors of the foods you cook it with, so you can use a firm tofu in a stir fry or a creamy tofu in a dessert recipe and both taste great. This recipe calls for a firm tofu.

By the way, this recipe was my grandmother’s -yes, I am proud to be third generation “crunchy”!

As you can see, I still have her original recipe card which was typed up on a manual typewriter way back in the 70′s (when else!). I have modified it just a bit- I lowered the salt content and added oregano, because I like mine flavorful and then I get to use the herbs I grow and dry:

Tofu Italian “Meatballs”

12 oz. tofu (Medium to Firm)

1/4 Cup finely ground walnuts

1/2 onion minced

1/4 – 1/3 Cup bread crumbs

1 egg slightly beaten

3 Tablespoons minced parsley (you can use dried or fresh)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon oregano

Mix the above ingredients well, and shape the mixture into 1 1/2 inch balls. Fry in a healthy oil until they are cooked and well browned. Place in a pan and cover them with pasta sauce. Cook “meatballs” on low heat for at least 30 minutes. For best flavor allow them to simmer in sauce for at least 4-6 hours.

The “meatballs” sometimes crumble, but this is a very tasty recipe and good for the crock pot. Just mix them up, brown them and leave them in the crock-pot with the sauce. You can easily double or even triple the recipe for larger families.

You can modify the recipe easily to make “meatballs” in a sweet/sour sauce to serve with rice and veggies by changing the spices you use. Add a little curry to make an Indian dish or skip the herbs and simmer them in a barbecue sauce.

Vegan Friends: I have not tried to make this without the eggs- you might try adding a little arrowroot starch to use as a binder instead of the eggs. Let me know how you do with this if you get a chance!

9 thoughts on “Tofu Italian Meatballs

  1. Wendy Vernon

    I made these tonight, some with ground flax “egg” and some with ground chia “egg.” They both tasted the same and held together well. I baked them at 400° for 20 minutes and they were so yummy! Next time we are going to eat them in our favorite BBQ sauce. I’m so happy you finally located this recipe and are willing to share it too. Thanks Moma Bird!😬🐣🍅🚛

    Reply
  2. mwfinchwren

    Merit–I LOVE this recipe! I’m always interested in something fun to do with tofu other than slicing, baking and stir-frying. What an idea!

    Also—thanks so much for the Pinterest follow! I love your boards!

    Reply
    1. Merit K Post author

      Thanks so much- I am glad you like it! I have not been as active on Pinterest as I have wanted to be, so I was glad to see you were on there. I followed all your boards since it looks like you have a lot I want to go pin! Loved the cocoa recipes on your blog BTW!

      Reply
      1. mwfinchwren

        Thank you! I am truthfully a bit overwhelmed with all of my boards. I’m planning to do some consolidation but just haven’t gotten to it yet.

        Blessings to you for a wonderful new year, Merit!

  3. Wendy

    I was thinking of making this with flaxseed or chia seed to make it vegan. I’ll let you know how it goes. Last week I made taco “meat” by using tofu, mushrooms and walnuts, after getting the idea from your grandmother’s recipe. It turned out really yummy.

    Reply
  4. incrediblesmom

    Your Grandma used Tofu?! Impressive. Looks like a delicious recipe. For those wishing it to be vegan-a little flaxseed meal mixed with water give a gelatinous feel and helps to bind. Will have to try the recipe both ways. :)

    Kimberly

    Reply
    1. Merit K Post author

      Awesome, Kimberly – thanks so much for the flaxseed meal tip. My hubby can always taste flaxseed so since I rarely use it- I never think of it!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

