NCHE Homeschool Conference Recap

 

Well, Saturday was the last day of the conference and since I have been home from the NCHE Homeschool Conference, I have been catching up on things around the house (laundry- yuck!) and mulling over the many things that I learned at the conference. We have all been reminiscing about the friends we saw and the fun we had. Even my Hubby mentioned that he really didn’t think that he would get as much out of it as he did. He learned a lot and had fun too.

I have been to conferences and workshops before, but this is the first time that my family joined me! This was such a great family experience. My husband, Andy, loved going with the kids to the “Teen track” workshops with John Stonestreet ,of Summit Ministries. I was really thrilled with what I heard from him as well. His “worldview” workshops were a great learning experience for our kids and an encouragement to them! They loved learning financial tips from Chuck Bentley (Crown Financial Ministries), Drama techniques from Ruth and Charlie Jones (Peculiar People) and dance tips from Dennis Ritchie.

They had a fabulous time socializing with other teens from our local  Homeschool support group and from all over North Carolina. We loved seeing the talent show and having those young people recognized for their hard work and exceptional abilities. We even got to take a peek at the Graduates in their caps and gowns as they lined up before the Graduation ceremony before we left on Saturday.

I was blessed to hear about organizing my home and homeschool in a better way (with Bethany LeBedz and Bonita Lillie) and homeschooling high school and preparing my students for college in workshops with Debbie Mason and Matthew Bullington. My daughter is looking at colleges right now, so it was great to be able to have access to many college materials through the college fair!

There were so many opportunities to be blessed- the mentoring volunteers were available to chat and answer questions, the speakers were great and it was wonderful to be able to look at all the curriculum physically at the book fair and ask vendors questions about the materials as well. I also got some great deals on books and didn’t pay shipping so I got more for my money!

I got to meet up with Tara, (She is the Blonde Mother Bear:   http://homeschoolblogger.com/blondie/ ) a friend I met when I was working on the Old Schoolhouse Magazine’s TOS review crew and I got to hang out with some local friends too.

The Benton Convention Center is a beautiful and convenient venue for the conference. I especially appreciated that there was a “Starbucks” right there so I could get my coffee fix (my addiction is so sad I know!).

The NCHE board and all the volunteers worked so hard to make it all happen and I just want to give them a HUGE shout out and say thank you for a great conference this year!!!

I am so thankful that I can teach my kids at home and have the kind of support the North Carolinians for Home Education provides! I know we could all do it all on our own, but it is so wonderful to have so many people that help to make the hard work easier. I loved seeing that those who helped to pave our way are still out there pulling for us and helping us to give our kids the type of quality education that will last a lifetime.

It was tons of fun to be part of the NCHE Blogger Team and post updates on the conference!

I hope that I will get to meet up with some more of my readers at the 2013 conference! We can grab a coffee :)

Thanks NCHE!

Merit K

One thought on “NCHE Homeschool Conference Recap

  1. Pingback: NCHE Homeschool Conference Recap « Mission Possible - Home School Aggregator- Visit the original site by following the link

Leave a Reply

