Homemade Convenience Foods

Homemade Convenience Foods by Marcia K. Washburn

In this recently released book, Marcia presents a “system” of cooking that delivers the homemade convenience promised in the title!

Because of our family’s food sensitivities (and peculiarities), we rarely eat out and I am seldom able to purchase convenience foods, so when I first heard the title of her book, I was intrigued.

I couldn’t wait to see if there were any good tips for me in there.

It seems as though I am in the kitchen a great deal, but even so, I have to admit that I am one of those “head in the clouds” types when it comes to the “What’s for Supper Mom?” question. Too often my answer has been… “Ummm… I don’t know yet, I forgot to take anything out of the freezer!”.

I found that Marcia’s ” system” was sensible and easy to do. While I was reading this book, I actually said “Why didn’t I think of this before?”! <palm meets  forehead>

I am so glad that I have this book!

As you can see in the picture above, when Marcia sent me the e-book to review, I put it in my notebook (oh how I love my notebooks) so I can keep it right in my kitchen. This is a great reference and I have found that I am referring to it on a regular basis.

The recipes are basic and yet tasty. The organization and cooking tips are invaluable and I found that it was easy to substitute the things that I needed to use such as ground turkey for the ground beef.  I love the Bread Mix recipes she includes since I use my bread maker almost every day and her tips make this a lot faster. You can even teach your kids to load up the bread machine!

The ideas in this book do save time in the kitchen. Her tips are helping me organize and plan menus realistically and will enable you to save money since you will not have to order take-out at the last-minute or use store-bought convenience foods, which are never as healthy and always cost more than homemade.

This is a great resource with real practical ideas for making eating at home more convenient.

Here is what her website has to say:

An ideal gift!

In these days of eating out, many young adults have never learned to prepare
meals at home. Their idea of eating at home involves carry-out from the
Chinese restaurant or a pre-made pizza from the deli.

Homemade Convenience Foods teaches inexperienced cooks how to make
great food from scratch. It is ideal for those just learning to cook. It makes an
ideal gift for a college student, a new bride, or a brand-new mommy.

Those who have been cooking for years are enthusiastic about Homemade
Convenience Foods, too. They love the time savings and the new method of
preparing their old favorites.

Saves money, too!

Homemade Convenience Foods not only saves time, it saves money.

No more late-afternoon runs to the grocery store or fast food place to get
something for your family’s dinner.

The system even teaches you how to never run out of anything again using a
method that even your children can use. Fewer trips to the store equals more
money in your pocket.

Be prepared for drop-in guests!

Have you longed to show hospitality to those God brings into your path? Have
you hesitated to spontaneously invite someone over because you didn’t have
the ingredients to pull together a meal?

Homemade Convenience Foods will teach you how to always have the
ingredients on hand to prepare at least a dozen different menus.

You will never be caught unprepared again!

Homemade Convenience Foods is available at the next Generation Publishing Website and the  Comb-bound print edition is just $5.99 + $2 Shipping & Handling.

The e-book which is normally $5.99 as a download, is only $4.99 Until February 16th!

http://www.marciawashburn.com/HomemadeConvenienceFoods.html

Marcia has her Master’s Degree in Music,  is a business woman, a Homeschool speaker, and a columnist.  She has also authored; Activity Days for Homeschool Groups and Families and Talent to Treasure: Building a Profitable Music Teaching Business.

She has recently released a series called  Management for Moms  and you can see it on the website here: http://www.marciawashburn.com/ManagementforMoms.html

I hope that you will check out some more of her available articles too http://www.marciawashburn.com/Articles.html.

Hope that your week is going well,

Merit Blog Sig

I received a copy of the e-book Homemade Convenience Foods free of charge in the hope that I would review and share my thoughts about this resource here.

One thought on “Homemade Convenience Foods

  1. Pingback: 12/22/2012 « Strong Family Memories

Leave a Reply

